SCAN RESULTS AND THE FUTURE!

Standard

Sounds quite mystical doesn’t it?   Eh, it won’t be that exciting or prophetic sorry to say!  I met with my oncologist this morning for my scan results from Monday, and to get my treatment plan started for the cancer in my collar bone.

The scan showed the usual lymph node involvement in my collarbone, neck and trapezius muscle on the right side. There were a few tiny bone lesions in the collar bone as well.  It has never been in my bone, but they are so tiny and slow growing, chemo is not required at this time.  The Dr. was actually very pleased that the cancer was not anywhere else in my body other than where it is after being off all treatments since 12/14.  On next Wednesday, I will begin Herceptin and Perjeta since the cancer is still HER2+.  I will get an infusion of this combo, once very 3 weeks only and there are no side effects at all!  I have tolerated these well in the past so I am happy there.

To strengthen my bones from future fractures or breaks, every 6 weeks they will be adding a medicine to the Herceptin/Perjeta combo called Xgeva.  This will lengthen my session by an hour I think, but in the scheme of things, no biggie!  I also have to begin taking 2000iu of Vitamin D as well as calcium to build up my levels.

So that is it in a nut shell.  I am very pleased with the results, and with my treatment plan.  I truly am thankful to Jesus whom I just dumped this on and who gave me the strength and peace to deal with whatever results came in.  I know his plan is working and sometimes you just have to say you need help, and give it over to Him to take care of.

Thanks for all the love and support as usual.  I’ll be writing about 3-4 book reviews next so keep posted to see them!  Have a great weekend and a Happy Easter! XO

 

 

Leave a Reply

